There are many global pageants, but the biggest four are: Miss World, Miss Universe, Miss Earth and Miss International.

As Miss Earth, Miss International and other global pageants grow, they will be given their own pages on the website. For now, this page provides a summary of Ghanaian delegates who have represented the country at other international.

NB: Miss International, the fourth of the four largest pageants in the world, started in 1960 in California,

 USA, after the Miss Universe pageant moved. At the moment, Ghana doesn’t participate in Miss International.

Miss Earth

Miss Earth is the newest and third largest of the four grand slam international pageants in the world. It began in 2001 with the aim of promoting environmental awareness. Winners of the pageant are to actively promote and get involved in the preservation of the environment and the protection of Mother Earth.The winner is crowned Miss Earth, while the 1st runner-up becomes Miss Earth Air, the 2nd runner-up, Miss Earth Water and the 3rd runner-up, Miss Earth Fire.A national delegate for Miss Earth should be a national pageant winner or an appointed delegate by a recognized Miss Earth franchise holder.Ghana has been represented in 8 of the 9 pageants that have been organised so far. The last two representatives were winners of the Ghana’s Most Beautiful pageant/reality show. Here's a link to the official Miss Earth website.

Ghana's participation at Miss Earth

2001     --
2002     Beverly Asamoah Jecty
2003     Ama Amissah Quartey
2004     Maame Afua Akyeampong
2005     Faustina Adjoa Akoto
2006     Mable Naadu Frye
2007     Diana Naa Blankson
2008     Sara Adoley Addo 
2009     Nasara Mariam Abdul Rauf 
2010     [TBA]


Beverly Asamoah Jecty competed in Miss Ghana 2002 where she was 2nd runner up to Shaida Buari. 

She also competed at Miss Tourism World in Ankara, Turkey where she won the Miss Tourism World (Africa ) 2002 Award with a prize of a six-month modelling contract with Platinum Modelling Agency.

Prior to this year, the delegates representing Ghana went with the national title, Model of the Universe Ghana, organised by 1st Royale Events.

Sarah Adoley Addo was the winner of Ghana's Most Beautiful, season 2.

Nasara Mariam Abdul Rauf was the winner of Ghana's Most Beautiful, season 3.

Miss Tourism Queen International

Miss Tourism Queen International (TQI)--not to be confused with Miss Tourism International or Miss Tourism World--is one of many tourism-based pageants around the world. According to the TQI website, this pageant has been alive since 1949 with more than 80 countries occasionally holding the competition for their Miss Tourism National Queen.

In 1993, the Miss Tourism Queen International Organization held the first world final competition in Sri Lanka, and later in USA, Russia, Brazil, Germany, Japan, Singapore, and many other countries as well. Miss TQI contests has been held in China for six years from 2004 to 2009.

Ghana at Miss TQI

2004     --
2005      --
2006     --
2007      Lena Ama Acquah
2008      Nana Yaa Adadewa Addo
2009      Yvonne Eyram Kofigah
2010      (TBD)


Lena Ama Acquah was the winner of Ghana's Most Beautiful, Season 1


Miss ECOWAS/CEDEAO is an annual beauty pageant that was established in 1994, and is open to delegates from the 15 member-states of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS)/Communauté Économique Des États de l'Afrique de l'Ouest (CEDEAO). 

Ghana debuted at Miss ECOWAS/CEDEAO in 1995 and took home the title for that year. Since then Ghana has often finished second or third. 


Year        Representative                    Placement

1994       Matilda Aku Alomatu       Winner
1995       Manuela Medie                         2nd Runner-up
1996       Shiela Azuntaba                       2nd Runner-up
1997      Benita Golomeke
1998      Efia Owusuaa Marfo
1999      Mariam Sugru Bugri
2000      Ewurafua Hawkson
2001      Selasi Kwawu
2002     Shaida Buari
2003     Serena Naa Ashi Roye
2004     Inna Patty
2005     Lamisi Mbilla
2006    Irene Dwomoh
2007    Frances Takyi-Mensah
2008    Mawusi Apea
2009    Mimi Areme